September 19

The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han

I reread the book series The Summer I Turned Pretty after watching the TV series on Amazon and fell in love all over again.  The first time I read the book was when I was 12 years old, so some time had passed since the last time I saw the words that the amazing Jenny Han wrote. 

The book starts out with the main character Isabel, nicknamed Belly, arriving at a beach house for summer vacation.  The reader then learns that she goes there every year with her family friends (including 2 boys her age), but this summer is different.  She has grown up this summer and now is pretty.  And the boys know it.  So the summer becomes a spicy one with love, sadness, hate and passion.  

I really recommend the book The Summer I Turned Pretty by Jenny Han.  It was an amazing reread for someone who doesn’t read books again typically (except for Song of Achilles).  The book was complex in story, but simple in reading to make it an enjoyable beach book.  Even though it was easy to read, it had twists and turns keeping the reader involved and not wanting to put it down.  The book has a heartwarming tone, transporting you back to summer!

-Gabi


Posted September 19, 2022 by fclibrary in category Realistic fiction, Romance

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*