January 23

Before the Devil Breaks You by Libba Bray

This was the culmination of all the previous books in the series, combining all the loose storylines and leading up to the climactic finale… which doesn’t happen in this book. It ends on a  huge cliffhanger! I can’t complain though, since the novel was a great read. I feel that after two of her novels, I have mastered the art of reading a Libba Bray book. Everything develops slowly and sometimes the reader will feel as if the story could be told in half the amount of pages. However, it is the attention to detail that makes the story so fantastic. Each step and thought causes me to come up with wild theories that add even more layers to the plot. 

I was especially drawn to the author’s interpretation of eugenics in the 1920s. She crafted her vision around it, using sentimentalities such as foreigner fears and radical views on race to not only illustrate modern struggles with these issues but also to enhance her story through a more personal appeal to characters. When they fight back against horrible institutions plaguing their society, even in little ways, it reminds me of the heroes of history standing up for what is right, not what society thinks. In no books that I have read or come across has the issue of eugenics been discussed so intensely with such relevance to a comprehensive plot. Most authors would be too timid to confront the dark chapter of history, but not Libba Bray. Her infusion of history and shining a spotlight on societal issues is the reason that I respect her writing so much. 

I cannot wait for the fourth and final book in the Diviners series, but until then I would highly recommend anybody who loves history and complex storylines to invest their time into reading the series (especially this book). 

 

Review by Ryan


Posted January 23, 2020 by fclibrary in category Book review, fantasy, Historical

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*