November 11

Powwow Summer by Nahanni Shingoose

River is a young half Ojibwe teenage girl living in Ontario, Canada, with her white mom and stepdad. Having just finished high school and feeling lost in herself she decides to spend the summer with her indigenous father and grandmother. Throughout the story readers see River go through a journey of self-discovery and acceptance. 

 I was looking to read more books by BIPOC authors and came across this one on a whim in the library one day. As someone who is very uneducated about indigenous life and culture in North America, I found the topics in this book to be very thought provoking. All of the main points of indigenous culture were  introduced in the way that made you go and look further into the topics and educate yourself on some of the both more beautiful and less joyful experiences of indigenous people. I felt that some of the storylines were either rushed or left unfinished, but the characters were easy to follow and kept me engrossed in what was coming next. I hope to continue reading works by indigenous peoples and continue educating myself on some of the issues I am not as aware of as I should be, and overall this was in my opinion a good read. 

Rating: 3/5

-Camryn


Posted November 11, 2022 by fclibrary in category Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*